Here’s a short FAQ of rules questions around the new cards from the Anarchs Unbound (and The Unaligned) expansion, which has been released earlier this year. Most of these questions are copies from the rules questions forum on VEKN.net.
- Question: Can I play Field Training on a vampire who is already an Anarch?
- Answer: Yes, the card (as per card text) can be put on any other “another ready, non-titled vampire you control” vampire. This restriction obviously doesn’t exclude Anarch vampires.
- Q: Can I play an action card that requires an Anarch and immediately afterwards play Red Question to fulfill the requirements.
- A: No, you can’t retroactively fulfill any requirement when playing a card. The requirement (Anarch, discipline, sect, etc.) has to be met before any card is played.
- Q: Can I play Red Question before “as the action is announced” action modifiers e.g. Ni Dieu ni Maître?
- A: No, similarly the questions above you have to fulfill the requirement of a card before playing said card. Plus, any action modifier with the “as the action is announced” clause has to be played immediately after the action is announced, that is before any other action modifiers can be played.
- Q: Can I play Red Question before “regular” action modifiers e.g. Power of One that require an Anarch.
- A: Yes, that possible. Action Modifiers always resolve immediately (in this case making the acting vampire an Anarch), and then you’re are eligible to play an action modifier requiring an Anarch.
- Q: When an Anarch Convert is influenced up and uses its ability to turn a vampire into an Anarch will the Convert trigger Hackerspace as well as the ability for two counters?
- A: Yes, Hackerspace gets two counters. The first one, when Anarch Convert enters play (even if only very briefly), and the second one, when a second (non-Anarch) vampire becomes Anarch.
- Q: Does a untitled Gangrel with a Skaald attached to him retain the extra two votes after becoming Baron, e.g. an unmerged Danielle Diron has a Skaald, but then becomes Baron by merging with her advanced version.
- A: The Skaald remains on the vampire, but the extra votes from the Skaald are not added to the Baron’s inherent 2 votes, because the cardtext of Skaald states explicitly “this untitled Gangrel gets +2 votes“. If, for example, after the title is lost (e.g. after a contest) the Gangrel will receive the two extra votes again. On the other hand, during an ongoing contest of the title, the Gangrel is still considered titled and therefore does not receive an extra two votes.
First Strike was always somewhat iffy in terms of handling its effect in a VTES game. I think most of it comes from the naming “First Strike” implicating that it is resolved/handled first in any combat (which is not true; see below). Maybe a better naming would have been “Fast Strike” (or something along that line).
From the VTES rulebook section 6.4.5. “Strike Effects”:
First Strike. A strike done with first strike is resolved before a normal strike. Thus, if the opposing minion is burned or sent to torpor by a strike done with first strike, his strike will not be resolved at all. If the opposing minion was striking with a weapon that is stolen or destroyed with first strike, then the opposing minion simply loses his strike altogether. If both minions strike with first strike, then the strikes are resolved simultaneously. A strike done with first strike will still not resolve before a combat ends effect (which always resolves first), and a dodge still cancels the effects of a strike done with first strike (see below).
And here’s a summary of various scenarios that are relevant for handling First Strikes in a combat:
- .. vs. Dodge — according to the rules (under section 6.4.5 — Dodge) a Dodge is handled before First Strike, that is the First Strike effects are evaded by the vampire using the Dodge.
- .. vs. Strike: Combat Ends — also according to the rules (under section 6.4.5 — Strike: Combat Ends) S:CE is handled before First Strike, that is the combat ends before the First Strike is resolved.
- .. vs. another First Strike — in this case, both First Strikes are handled at the same time, similar to the case when both strikes are “normal” strikes (exception are the environmental damage effects (if any; see below).
- .. vs. environmental damage — the environmental damage is always handled during normal strike resolution (regardless of who actually played the First Strike). For example, if one of the combatants goes to torpor (or is burned) by damage effects of the First Strike, the effects of the environmental damage are not resolved.
- .. vs. Rötschreck — Rötschreck is played when strikes are chosen, that is before the strikes resolve. Therefore the effect of Rötschreck kicks in before the sequencing of First Strike and the “normal” strike takes players.
- .. vs. Nightstick/Forearm Block — the prevention effect of Nightstick/Forearm Block is not there yet, when the First Strike is resolved. Therefore the First Strike’s damage cannot be prevented by using these cards.
As a follow-up to the Epiphany FAQ from a few weeks ago, here are some more questions and answers regarding merging vampires in general:
- Question: If a merged vampire gets burned, can I use Possession to bring back the merged vampire back to the ready region.
- Answer: No, you cannot. You can can pick one of the two vampires (the basic or the advanced version) to move it back to the ready region. Vampires remember nothing after a trip through the ash heap. That includes memory of being merged.
- Reference: [LSJ-20050423]
- Q: If the basic version of a vampire has +1 bleed and the advanced version has also +1 bleed, what the bleed modifier for the merged vampire?
A: The merged vampire has +2 bleed. The +1 bleed modifier of the basic and the advanced vampire is not a conflicting attribute/trait (like sect or title), and thus in the merged version they are added up. The same would apply for similar traits like strength or non-titled(!) votes.
- Q: If a vampire in the ready has acquired the Black Hand trait and I merge the vampire (with the advanced or basic version), does the vampire loose the Black Hand trait?
- A: He does not loose the Black Hand trait. The Black Hand trait is not tied a requirement like a sect or a title, and therefore the merged version inherits the trait from version already in play. This different than, for example, for the Anarch trait, which is tightly coupled with the Independent sect. That is, if the base vampire already in play is Anarch, and the advanced vampire belongs to a non-independent sect, then the merged vampire changes sect to the non-Independent sect, and thus the Anarch trait is lost.
- Q: Can I merge a vampire that is in torpor?
- A: Yes, you can merge a torporized vampire. The rules [section 1.5] state the vampire only needs to be controlled to be the target of a merge. On the other hand, you cannot merge a vampire that is already contested, because the contested vampire is not considered to be in play for any other purpose than contesting.
- Q: Another player controls the basic version of a vampire. If I move the advanced version of that same vampire to the ready region, do we contest the vampire?
- A: Yes, there’s a contest then. The rules [section 1.5, again] state that the vampires (both the base and advanced version) are considered to be the same vampire with regards to contesting.
Lately there have been some questions regarding Epiphany on VEKN.net, and therefore here are some questions and answers regarding the card:
- Question: Can you search for an advanced vampire even though the vampire performing the Epiphany has no Advanced vampire?
- Answer: Yes, you can cycle a card this way. This is similar when you’re playing Magic of the Smith and miraculously “fail” to find an appropriate equipment in your library. Refer to VEKN.net.
- Q: Can I move an unmerged vampire from the uncontrolled region to the ready region and merge them in the same influence phase?
- A: No, you can’t. The uncontrolled vampires with enough blood on them to be moved to the ready region, become controlled at the end of influence phase and then it’s too late spent four transfers for merging them. Refer to VEKN.net.
- Q: Can you add Legendary Vampire to a vampire that has been merged last turn?
- A: No, you can’t since merging a vampire is not the same as moving a (new) vampire from the uncontrolled to the ready region, that is the unmerged version has been in play for at least two turns already. Refer to VEKN.net and [LSJ-200305019].
- Q: An unmerged vampire Sebastian Goulet (Sabbat) becomes Independent and Anarch. What sect does he have when I merge him then?
- A: He becomes Sabbat again, because in case of conflicting traits, etc. (in this case Independent vs. Sabbat) the advanced version applies in full after merging. Because of changing sect, he also loses his Anarch trait. See [LSJ-20090706].
.. when Carlak is targeted by a Banishment, he will receive blood (according to his special ability), if one or more players have cast votes against the referendum, before he is moved to the uncontrolled region? The reason is that Carlak’s special ability (that he receives the blood) is checked when votes are tallied, that is before the effects of a referendum are applied.
Lately I have been reading a couple of rulings/clarifications/questions about combat cards with a steal/destroy weapon/equipment effect (short: steal weapon), so here’s a short “Questions and Answers” summary for this crypt card. Most of the information is taken from the VtES Usenet Newsgroup “rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad” and some from “VEKN.net”. Examples for these cards/abilities are Fast Hands, Canine Horde or Lucian’s special ability.
Question: Can I play a card with a steal weapon effect, if the opposing minion in combat doesn’t have a weapon?
Answer: No, you can’t. There need to be a valid target (the weapon) for being allowed to play such a card.
Question: When a vampire I control steals a weapon in combat, when can that vampire use it for the first time? In the same round or only in a new combat?
Answer: The VtES rules explicitly prohibit (in section 6.4.5. “Strike Effects“), that stolen equipment may be used by bearer during the same round it was stolen. So the use in the same round, e.g. with additional strikes is not allowed. Anything else, next round or next combat, is fair game.
Question: If the other vampire is striking me with a weapon, and I play a card with a steal weapon effect, is damage inflicted to me from the weapon strike?
Answer: Yes, there is. Both effects are handled simultaneously during strike resolution and while the weapon is stolen during that phase, you are assigned the damage at the same time.
I was playing a deck containing Political Struggle and during the first game a couple of questions came to my mind. So I read some rule questions about Political Struggle (PS), checked the VtES Usenet Newsgroup “rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad” and the VEKN.net website for some answers and finally came up with the short “Questions and Answers” summary for the card.
Question: Does it matter how/when the opposing vampire is put into torpor or is burned?
Answer: No, it doesn’t matter. PS only states that the vampire needs to go torpor (or is burned), but does not restrict the effect by which this has to happen. It can be as result of a combat, by an effect of action (e.g. Horseshoe), by a political action (e.g. Veles Hunt or Justicar Retribution) or by an effect of a reaction card (e.g. Touch of Pain).
Question: Does the vampire playing Political Struggle in the first place transfers the votes from the vampire targeted by Political Struggle?
Answer: No. The vampire playing the PS in the first plays gains the votes, but the torporized vampire retains his votes/title, and if he’s coming back from torpor he can use his votes/title as before. If the opposing vampire is burned, then .. well, he’s burned.
I read some rule questions about the Shadow Court Satyr (SCS) and checked the VtES Usenet Newsgroup for some answers and finally came up with the short “Questions and Answers” summary for the card. Most of the information is taken from the VtES Usenet Newsgroup “rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad“, some from VEKN.net.
Question: Can I play any combat card on Shadow Court Satyr.
Answer: Yes, any combat card. But the question is if SCS can actually use them in combat, e.g. he still needs to meets the requirements of that combat card and he must be able to pay its cost.
Question: Can I use Taste of Vitae on Shadow Court Satyr?
Answer: Yes, in combat SCS can use Taste of Vitae, because the clause “as a vampire” also applies here, too, even though Taste of Vitae doesn’t require a discipline (covered by the “if any” sub-clause at the end of the card text).