As a follow-up to the Epiphany FAQ from a few weeks ago, here are some more questions and answers regarding merging vampires in general:
- Question: If a merged vampire gets burned, can I use Possession to bring back the merged vampire back to the ready region.
- Answer: No, you cannot. You can can pick one of the two vampires (the basic or the advanced version) to move it back to the ready region. Vampires remember nothing after a trip through the ash heap. That includes memory of being merged.
- Reference: [LSJ-20050423]
- Q: If the basic version of a vampire has +1 bleed and the advanced version has also +1 bleed, what the bleed modifier for the merged vampire?
A: The merged vampire has +2 bleed. The +1 bleed modifier of the basic and the advanced vampire is not a conflicting attribute/trait (like sect or title), and thus in the merged version they are added up. The same would apply for similar traits like strength or non-titled(!) votes.
- Q: If a vampire in the ready has acquired the Black Hand trait and I merge the vampire (with the advanced or basic version), does the vampire loose the Black Hand trait?
- A: He does not loose the Black Hand trait. The Black Hand trait is not tied a requirement like a sect or a title, and therefore the merged version inherits the trait from version already in play. This different than, for example, for the Anarch trait, which is tightly coupled with the Independent sect. That is, if the base vampire already in play is Anarch, and the advanced vampire belongs to a non-independent sect, then the merged vampire changes sect to the non-Independent sect, and thus the Anarch trait is lost.
- Q: Can I merge a vampire that is in torpor?
- A: Yes, you can merge a torporized vampire. The rules [section 1.5] state the vampire only needs to be controlled to be the target of a merge. On the other hand, you cannot merge a vampire that is already contested, because the contested vampire is not considered to be in play for any other purpose than contesting.
- Q: Another player controls the basic version of a vampire. If I move the advanced version of that same vampire to the ready region, do we contest the vampire?
- A: Yes, there’s a contest then. The rules [section 1.5, again] state that the vampires (both the base and advanced version) are considered to be the same vampire with regards to contesting.