I read some rule questions about the Shadow Court Satyr (SCS) and checked the VtES Usenet Newsgroup for some answers and finally came up with the short “Questions and Answers” summary for the card. Most of the information is taken from the VtES Usenet Newsgroup “rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad“, some from VEKN.net.
Question: Can I play any combat card on Shadow Court Satyr.
Answer: Yes, any combat card. But the question is if SCS can actually use them in combat, e.g. he still needs to meets the requirements of that combat card and he must be able to pay its cost.
Question: Can I use Taste of Vitae on Shadow Court Satyr?
Answer: Yes, in combat SCS can use Taste of Vitae, because the clause “as a vampire” also applies here, too, even though Taste of Vitae doesn’t require a discipline (covered by the “if any” sub-clause at the end of the card text).
Question: Can I use Amaranth with Shadow Court Satyr?
Answer: No, while technically you can play the card (see Taste of Vitae above), SCS cannot use the card to diablerize a vampire. Allies can’t diablerize in general, and the card doesn’t allow him to bypass this restriction.
Question: Can Shadow Court Satyr use a combat card that requires more than discipline (e.g. Eye of Unforgiving Heaven).
Answer: No, he can’t SCS card text says he can use a card that requires one (“a”) discipline.
Question: Can Shadow Court Satyr use cards with outferiors (e.g. Absorb the Mind), that is combat with two effects requiring two different inferior disciplines.
Answer: Yes, the SCS can choose to use a different inferior version each time it is used.
Question: Can Shadow Court Satyr use a combat card that requires an Anarch, e.g. Diversion.
Answer: No, he can’t. While SCS can use a card that requires one discipline, but he doesn’t fulfill the requirement of an Anarch. The same applies to other combat cards requiring a clan (e.g. Leathery Hide) or a sect (Neebi).
Question: Can Shadow Court Satyr use Disarm in combat?
Answer: Yes, he can providing he has inflicted more damage than the opposing vampire (at close range). But the card is then moved to the opposing vampire, and hence the SCS cannot play/use that card again.
Question: When the card the Shadow Court Satyr is a Weighted Walking Stick, does it renew every time it is has been used up?
Answer: No. It is burned when it is “used up” as per card text of the Weighted Walking Stick.