.. when you’re playing Shattering Crescendo, you already need the second copy of Shattering Crescendo in your hand and you cannot rely on drawing a second copy of the card as replacement for the initial Shattering Crescendo? The reason is, that you need to be able to pay the “cost” of the card when announcing the action. This comparable to not being able to play an action card that costs two blood when you only have one and/or having the weapon in your hand when you’re playing Concealed Weapon.
Reference: [LSJ 2010-08-02]
.. that you can burn a vampire who attempts to bleed for four (or more) by using an Archon Investigation even though you have a Protected Resources in play? The reason that the reduction of a bleed to two only kicks in when the action resolves, that is the pool is actually reduced by the bleed amount. On the other hand, to play Archon Investigation it is enough that the acting vampire is attempting to bleed you.
In the same sense, when you’re bleed for four and you reduce the bleed by two (e.g. by using Telepathic Counter), you’re still bled by two. The effect Protected Resources only kicks in later, effectively leaving the bleed at two.
.. you can target a vampire that is immune to Frenzy cards with Deep Song (using superior Animalism), but the targeted vampire is not tapped and there’s no resulting combat? The reason is that the (Immunity to) Frenzy isn’t part of the targeting requirements, and therefore the vampire can be targeted. On the other hand, during the resolution of the Deep Song action, the immunity to Frenzy advantage is checked, and therefore the actual consequences of the action are non-existing. Unless, of course, the targeted vampire (or any other minion) chooses to block the action, in which the normal blocking/combat resolution takes place.
.. you cannot play Form of Mist at superior Protean (to continue the action) when the extra stealth provided by Form of Mist is not needed (as compared to the intercept of the currently blocking minion). As a general rule, you cannot play stealth cards when the stealth is not (yet) needed, and Form of Mist has no exception clause in its card text. Therefore the general rules apply, and you cannot play Form of Mist when you don’t need the stealth.
Granted this is a cornercase, because the blocking minion needs to lose some of the intercept during the resulting combat, but it can happen. For example, the retainers (Raven Spy, Mr. Wintrop) providing the intercept get killed during combat (e.g. by Weather Control) or the acting minion nullifies the intercept during combat (Stanislava negates the retainers intercept during combat).
.. when you have been using superior Eagle’s Sight to block an action (after ignoring the normal prey, predator or target restrictions for blocking actions), and the acting vampires continues the action after a successful block (with cards like Form of Mist or Crypt’s Sons), you need another way of blocking the action again. In other words, Eagle’s Sight is only good for one block attempt. But since you cannot play the same reaction card twice during an action, you (most likely) cannot block the action any longer.
The reason for this is the card text, which states the card allows the reacting vampire attempts to block the current action despite of the usual restriction. The same applies to Falcon’s Eye at superior Spiritus with the same card text. Anneke on the other could block again in the situation described above, because her card text is sort of permanent, allowing to break the usual block restrictions multiple times during an action.
.. you cash in a Priority Contract for 3 pool when a vampire is moved to the uncontrolled region after a successful Banishment referendum? Typically when gaining pool from a Contract, you either burn a vampire or at least send him torpor. In the case of a Banishment, the vampire moves the uncontrolled region, which (of course) is not part of the ready region. Even though the Priority Contract (along with any other cards on the vampire) would be out of play after the Banishment, the Priority Contract states the Contract can be burned and the 3 pool gained, when vampire would leave the region; that is right before he is moved to the uncontrolled region.
.. that after a vampire (or any other unique minion) has been burned, and a new copy of the same vampire has been brought into play, the new vampire is not affected by cards that have been pointing to the original vampire? For example, Lodin enjoyed the blood flow from The Rack, and is then burned in combat or by diablerie. In the next turn a new copy of Lodin is moved to the ready region. This new copy of Lodin does not receive the benefits of The Rack (even if it hasn’t moved yet to point to another vampire).
For all intents and purposes, different copies of the same vampire are considered different (except for contesting). Another example is that even if the first copy of has yielded his title (e.g Lodin has not been the Prince of Chicago anymore), the new copy of the vampire, still has the title (and would contest it again, if there’s another vampire holding the same title in play).
This, of course, is not really relevant for cards that have been placed on a vampire directly. Cards like Fame, or Heroic Might go the ash heap as soon as the vampire attached to the cards is burned or diablerized.
.. you cannot play (in this order) Govern the Unaligned with Conditioning, and then play Seduction (which just replaced for the Conditioning) on another vampire. The reason is that even if you play all these cards before the other player could react/interact, the Seduction can only be played as the action is announced. And that window has closed, when you played Conditioning, which is a regular action modifier.
So the correct order is to play the action card, play all (one or more) action modifier cards that are needed to be played as the action as announced (or use any similar effects like using Club Illusion), and then play any (other) action modifiers you want to play.
.. that you can’t play Zephyr after you played Spying Mission. While the bleed is not successful (the bleed amount was reduced to zero), the action as such was successful. And therefore by the card text of Zephyr you can’t play the card.
Basically the above is the reverse argument for the fact that you can play Freak Drive (even at basic Fortitude) after playing Spying Mission. The action is successful (even though the bleed is not), therefore you can play Freak Drive.
Reference: [LSJ 2001-02-05].
.. when a vampire with a discipline card (which increases the capacity) is banished, you only need to move enough blood on the vampire to match the original capacity to move him to the ready region? The reason for this, is that the discipline card is not considered to be in play while the banished vampire is in the uncontrolled region. Thus it does not increase the capacity of the vampire in that situation. On the other hand, if you move an additional blood (total then capacity+1) on the vampire, the vampire is moved to the ready region, the discipline card comes into play, and thus the extra blood is not draining off.
.. after you used Dis Pater, the bleed cannot be reduced or bounced to another player. This is because Dis Pater specifically can only be used (by its own card text) when a bleed is successful. that is when targeted player is about to loose pool from the bleed. In that sense, Dis Pater falls into the same time window as Spying Mission. It also makes the acting minion save from Archon Investigation, which on the other hand specifically says it is played when an acting minion is attempting to bleed.
.. when you’re playing Sudario Refraction, you cannot move the same Sudario Refraction you just played to the top of your library (during the action’s resolution)? The reason for this is, that you have to “choose three cards” in the ash heap when the card is played. Since at that moment the Sudario Refraction is not (yet) in the ash heap, it cannot be named. Of course, if there’s already another Sudario Refraction in the ash heap, it’s of course possible to take this second copy of the card to the top of your library. It would be different if the card would say “search your ash heap for three cards“, then the act of selection the cards is placed during the (successful) resolution of the action, and not the announcement.
A related issue is that when playing Ashur Tablets you have to name the (up to) 13 cards (and the one you want to take into your hand) when playing the card, that is especially before you draw the replacement card.
.. when Unleash Hell’s Fury is tapped (e.g. by using Remover on it), Unleash Hell’s Fury can still (attempt to) block? The reason for is this that Unleash Hell’s Fury is not minion in the general sense that it needs to be “ready” or “untapped” as any other minion; it just isn’t a minion. And the card text simply states, that Unleash Hell’s Fury can attempt to block and omits any statement about any requirement for that (tapped or untapped).
There are some other peculiarities about Unleash Hell’s Fury. Some are obvious, some are not so obvious, so I would like to summarize here:
And thanks to a certain Danish player who plays (and owns) a certain Nergal deck.
.. you are able to play more than two Striga (and Maleficia likewise) (pseudo-)discipline cards on an infernal vampire? While the other discipline cards cannot be placed on a vampire with the superior version of the given discipline as per card text, the Striga card lack this text and therefore don’t have this restriction. So, if you have a pile of Striga or Maleficia cards in your hand, you can splash them on your infernal vampires, giving them five or six of these each if want to to.
.. when Santaleous uses his special ability to cancel a master card, the cost for the card has to be paid even though it was canceled? The card text of Santaleous omits the phrase “no cost is paid”, therefore when you’re playing a Zillah’s Valley, for example, the card is canceled and you have to the pay 5 pool. Even worse, when Santaleous is bleeding you for seven, and you’re playing an Archon Investigation, he can just cancel the Archon Investigation and you’re being bled for seven plus the three pool you have to pay for the Archon Investigation. Also note, that Santaleous’ card text has no restriction on how many times he can do this in a turn. So as long has he has blood, he can cancel master cards repeatedly in a given turn.
.. in contrast to Taste of Vitae, Orgy of Blood let’s your vampires gain blood from burning an ally even when the vampire you control goes to torpor at the end of the combat where you played Orgy of Blood? In contrast to Taste of Vitae, Orgy of Blood lacks the restriction that vampires cannot play this card when going to torpor.
There are two other noteworthy things about Orgy of Blood. The first thing is, that it doesn’t matter if the recruitment cost was originally paid in blood or in pool. So you get 3 blood for burning a War Ghoul as well as 3 blood for taking care of a Shambling Horde. The second issue is that the card doesn’t restrict the beneficiaries are not restricted to your ready vampires, but all vampires you control gain the recruitment cost of the ally as blood.
.. you can burn a Underbridge Stray which is subject to a (D) action, e.g. he is being rushed or being stolen, to untap a vampire and effectively ending the action right away. You can use the Underbridge Stray anytime during a (D) action against you (unless he’s the blocking minion), and since the action like Entrancement or Bum’s Rush no longer has a valid target, the action fizzles.
This is very similar to the case where you can tap a War Ghoul to destroy a location when she is targeted by an Entrancement, to make the action fizzle (and prevent the War Ghoul from being stolen).
.. a Laibon vampire with capacity of 4 (or less) can remove the Aranthebes,the Immortal provided he has number of Orun cards on him. Usually a vampire with capacity of 4 cannot remove Aranthebes, because of his card text. On the other hand, Orun gives a vampire two additional capacity for each Orun with regards to cards played by other players. It doesn’t matter that Aranthebes had been played earlier in the game, it may be even have been played when the Laibon vampire didn’t have the Orun yet. Please take note, that the Laibon vampire couldn’t remove an Aranthebes played by his own controller.
.. that the Bima ally can play political action cards like Kine Resources Contested. Of course, this is not directly possible, because the rules(?) only allow vampires to play political action cards. But once a Bima has a Presence discipline card, that Bima can use Charming Lobby to play a political action en passant.
.. when an opposing vampire rushes one of your (untapped) vampires with Deep Song without you blocking (successfully), you can still play Obedience (and prevented being tapped)? Obedience states that you can play the card when you’re “about to enter combat“. This gives you an opportunity to before the cards effect of Deep Song takes place (tap and enter combat).
.. that you always play Mind of the Wilds during an action, even if blocks are declined? Mind of the Wilds can be played (for example) at superior when there’s a block attempt and the stealth of superior Mind of the Wilds is needed. On the other hand, you can also play Mind of the Wilds at inferior when blocks have been declined by your opponents. The card says that the effect (on inferior) is taking place in case the action is blocked, it does not say that the card can only be played if the action blocked.
So Mind of the Wilds can easily be used in conjunction with Dabbler to allow the vampire to untap after the action (just one extra discipline required then). Quite usable in any Tzimisce deck, but also some other decks (Tremere G4/5 Big Caps) come to my mind …
.. that when you’re striking with a Flash Grenade and the opposing vampire is playing Earth Meld (or Majesty, etc.), the opposing vampire first untaps (before ending combat). Then the Flash Grenade will tap him, effectively annulling the untap of the Earth Meld.
As a side note, if the opposing vampire then plays Psyche! or Telepathic Tracking the effect of not untapping in the next untap phase is lost (e.g he untaps normally).
.. when you blocked an action successfully using Forced Awakening, On the Qui Vive or Wake With Evening’s Freshness, and the opposing vampire plays Form of Mist at superior, you don’t need to play another Wake-type card to attempt to block the action again? Of course, you do need the extra intercept, but the effect for allowing you to block was granted for the whole action as per card text of these cards.
Take note there’s difference to cards that let you untap, e.g. Second Tradition: Domain or Sense the Savage Way. In that case, you only untap once, then you successfully block (which taps you), and when the actions continues with Form of Mist, you need another untap or a Wake-type cards for attempting to block again.
Post Scriptum: I wasn’t sure about Forced Awakening, since On the Qui Vive and Wake With Evening’s Freshness explicitly says “until the current action is concluded“, whereas Forced Awakening omits this part, but the first reference below has LSJ confirm that Forced Awakening works in the same fashion.
.. when you’re playing Open Dossier with a tapped minion, it only allows (or better enables) the vampire to block, but not to play additional reaction cards like many of the other “Wake“-type cards. The difference is in the wording of Open Dossier, or more precisely the lack of it. While Open Dossier only states that a tapped vampire can attempt to block, cards like Forced Awakening or On the Qui Vive explicitly allow the tapped vampire also to play reaction cards as if untapped. So if you played Open Dossier with a tapped vampire, you need an additional “Wake“-type card or effect to be able to play cards that give you additional intercept (for example).
.. when you’re playing Tenebrous Form at superior), allies cannot block anymore? The text of the card specifically says that the opposing minions (without Obtenebration) must pay one blood to attempt to block. And because allies can only burn life, they’re prohibited from blocking this action.