I was playing a deck containing Political Struggle and during the first game a couple of questions came to my mind. So I read some rule questions about Political Struggle (PS), checked the VtES Usenet Newsgroup “rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad” and the VEKN.net website for some answers and finally came up with the short “Questions and Answers” summary for the card.
Question: Does it matter how/when the opposing vampire is put into torpor or is burned?
Answer: No, it doesn’t matter. PS only states that the vampire needs to go torpor (or is burned), but does not restrict the effect by which this has to happen. It can be as result of a combat, by an effect of action (e.g. Horseshoe), by a political action (e.g. Veles Hunt or Justicar Retribution) or by an effect of a reaction card (e.g. Touch of Pain).
Question: Does the vampire playing Political Struggle in the first place transfers the votes from the vampire targeted by Political Struggle?
Answer: No. The vampire playing the PS in the first plays gains the votes, but the torporized vampire retains his votes/title, and if he’s coming back from torpor he can use his votes/title as before. If the opposing vampire is burned, then .. well, he’s burned.
Question: Can you play multiple Political Struggle on the same vampire? What happens if that vampire goes to torpor?
Answer: PS does not have a clause that you can only put only one PS on a vampire. So you can multiple PS on the same vampire. If that vampire goes to torpor all the PS are burned, and all of the vampires having put the cards into play gain the votes the targeted vampire.
Question: Do they vampires only gain votes from titles or from votes in general?
Answer: The vampire playing the PS gains all the votes from the vampires, titles or not. For example, the vampire gains ..
- 4 votes when Ayo Igoli goes to torpor when she’s a Kholo and that player also controls another titled vampire.
- 3 votes when Gerald Windham goes to torpor and there are 3 titled vampires controlled by other players.
Question: When the vampire playing Political Struggle already has a title (e.g. an Archbishop), does she lose the title/votes when PS triggers.
Answer: She retains the title and gets the votes from PS in addition to that. PS does not grant a title and therefore the vampire playing PS in the first place does not have to forfeit her title.
Question: If the targeted vampire is a Priscus, how many votes does the vampire playing Political Struggle get when the card is burned.
Answer: Actually he gets no votes, because the Priscus herself only has one ballot in a referendum and only the Prisci block (as a group) has the three votes.
Question: Can I gain votes from the same vampire again after he was going to torpor for the first time, that is by playing a second (or third) Political Struggle?
Answer: Yes, you can. Once the vampire targeted from the first PS comes back to the ready region, he’s an eligible target for a second PS.
Question: Can I play Political Struggle on the vampires I control?
Answer: No, you can’t. PS explicitly states that you can only target vampires controlled by another player.
Question: When vampire playing the Political Struggle in the first place diablerizes the targeted vampire, does he gain the votes before the Blood Hunt referendum?
Answer: Yes, he does gain the additional votes. First the action is resolved including the effect of PS, and then the Blood Hunt referendum is called.