Lately I have been reading a couple of rulings/clarifications/questions about combat cards with a steal/destroy weapon/equipment effect (short: steal weapon), so here’s a short “Questions and Answers” summary for this crypt card. Most of the information is taken from the VtES Usenet Newsgroup “rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad” and some from “VEKN.net”. Examples for these cards/abilities are Fast Hands, Canine Horde or Lucian’s special ability.
Question: Can I play a card with a steal weapon effect, if the opposing minion in combat doesn’t have a weapon?
Answer: No, you can’t. There need to be a valid target (the weapon) for being allowed to play such a card.
Question: When a vampire I control steals a weapon in combat, when can that vampire use it for the first time? In the same round or only in a new combat?
Answer: The VtES rules explicitly prohibit (in section 6.4.5. “Strike Effects“), that stolen equipment may be used by bearer during the same round it was stolen. So the use in the same round, e.g. with additional strikes is not allowed. Anything else, next round or next combat, is fair game.
Question: If the other vampire is striking me with a weapon, and I play a card with a steal weapon effect, is damage inflicted to me from the weapon strike?
Answer: Yes, there is. Both effects are handled simultaneously during strike resolution and while the weapon is stolen during that phase, you are assigned the damage at the same time.
Question: If the other vampire is striking me with a weapon, and I play a steal weapon card with First Strike, does it help then or do I still receive damage from the weapon strike?
Answer: In this case, the strike resolution is handled in two steps. Which means in the first strike resolution (where the First Strike is resolved) you steal the weapon, and in the second phase the other vampire comes up empty handed. And thus you don’t receive any damage. He’s committed to use the weapon strike earlier, and now can’t decide otherwise even though the weapon is no longer his.
Question: I am trying to steal the opposing vampire’s Ivory Bow, he uses Rötschreck to sent my vampire to torpor. Does it work that way?
Answer: In this case, it doesn’t matter if the attempt weapon was made with First Strike or not. This is because the Rötschreck is resolved before strike resolution. The opposing vampire sends you to torpor when the attempt of inflicting aggravated damage is made (actually this more of a Rötschreck question, then a steal weapon question).
Question: Can the steal weapon effect be averted when the opposing vampire plays Dodge or Strike Combat: Ends?
Answer: In both cases the weapon is not stolen, both strike effects beat the steal weapon effect in the same way as any damage dealing strike does.
Question: When one vampire tries to steal a weapon (with or without First Strike) from an opposing vampire, can the other vampire steal the weapon back in the same exchange of strikes, e.g. both are playing Fast Hands?
Answer: No, the second vampire can’t steal the weapon immediately. Simply because when he’s playing the card (announcing the strike) there’s (not yet) a legal target for the strike. This statement holds even when the first vampire is using First Strike to steal the weapon and the second vampire is using a regular strike to steal the weapon. The earliest opportunity to do so is either with an additional strike (or lacking that) the next round of combat (if there’s press to continue). The vampire who just lost the weapon could use an additional strike to steal the weapon in the same round (or later).
Question: The opposing vampire uses a gun to go to long range, I use maneuver to go back to close range, and then I steal the weapon. Can I use the gun’s maneuver in the next round of combat (provided a press to continue was used)?
Answer: No, you can’t. The gun only provides one maneuver each combat, which already has been used up. The ownership of the gun is not relevant. The same applies to other effects which can be used only once per combat (e.g. a dodge or a Prevent effect).
Question: The opposing vampire has a Grenade, and uses it in combat as strike. A vvampire I control uses Fast Hands to steal the weapon. Does my vampire get the Grenade or is it burned (since the strike was already chosen)?
Answer: It really depends on if you played Fast Hands at inferior or superior. On inferior, both strikes resolve simultaneously. The vampire you control takes the damage from the Grenade, the Grenade is therefore used and burned before you can lay hands on it. When using Fast Hands on superior, then you first take away the Grenade from the other vampire, and then the opposing vampire can’t strike. Thus the Grenade is not used and your vampire got to keep it (at least for now!)
Question: An Imbued is using a weapon and Strike with Conviction to hit a vampire I control. The vampire I control plays Fast Hands (at superior). Does the Imbued have to burn the Strike with Conviction anyhow.
Answer: No, it’s not burned. The First Strike resolves, your vampire steals the weapon. Therefore the Imbued cannot resolve his strike, and cannot use the Strike with Conviction on the weapon he no longer controls.
Question: A vampire I control steals a gun in combat, that has been “created” using Horrid Reality. Where does the gun go, once the combat ends?
Answer: The gun goes to the other players ashheap/library, because Horrid Reality doesn’t care who controls the weapon when the combat ends.
Question: If a vampire I control steals weapon created by Bauble, can the player controlling the Bauble still burn the card (and thus the weapon) even though he doesn’t control the weapon anymore?
Answer: Yes. The burn effect of Bauble doesn’t specify that you have to control the weapon.
- VtES Rules: Strike Effects.
- VEKN Rulings: No target for steal/destroy weapon.
- [LSJ-20080909]: First Strike/Combat Ends.
- [LSJ-20010731]: Using effects of a stolen weapon.
- [LSJ-20080911]: Stealing & Counter-Stealing.
- [LSJ-20060517]: Strike with Conviction.
- [LSJ-20000620]: Horrid Reality
- [LSJ-20031623]: Bauble.