Lately a number of questions came up regarding Piper, so here’s a short “Questions and Answers” summary for the card. Most of the information is taken from the Usenet newsgroup “rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad“:
Q: Can the ally an Anarch recruited by using “Piper” in the Master phase, act during the same turn?
A: No. He is recruited (and not “put into play” as it is stated on Khazaar’s Diary“). As indicated in the rules (section 6.1.5) the new ally is moved to the uncontrolled region to indicate, that he act during that turn, and is moved to the ready region at the end of the turn.
Q: If I have a “Charisma” on an Anarch, is the cost reduced for recruiting an ally when playing “Piper“.
Yes. “Piper” states “cost applies as normal“, so the reduction of “Charisma” is used for calculation of the cost of the ally.
A: Recruiting via “Piper” is not an action, and therefore the cost reduction of “Charisma” does not count. [LSJ-2009-01-15].
Q: If “Mata Hari” is an Anarch, can I use to “Piper” to tap her and recruit an ally requiring a clan, e.g. a “War Ghoul” or “Renegade Garou“?
A: “Piper” requires that the Anarch tapped for the “Piper” fulfill the requirements for recruiting the ally, and “Mata Hari clearly can recruit all those allies requiring a clan.
Q: If I have multiple Master phase actions at my disposal, can I play multiple “Pipers” to recruit a corresponding number of allies?
A: Yes, you can do this, as long as you have always have an untapped Anarchs for each “Piper” played.
Q: If I managed to untap an Anarchs in my Master phase (e.g. “Path of Evil Revelations” or “Alexandra’s” special ability), can I play a second “Piper” to tap the same Anarch a second time (provided I have two Master phase actions)?
A: Yes. There’s nothing to prevent you from doing this. You’re not taking an action (or playing an action card).